For an optimal browsing experience, please use Chrome, Firefox or Edge

Midland Metro Alliance

In detail

Location

West Midlands

Client

West Midlands combined authority

Colas Rail is the main contractor in the construction group alongside Colas Ltd, Bouygues UK, Barhale and Auctus Management Group. Meanwhile, Pell Frischmann, Egis Rail and Tony Gee work together in the engineering studies group.
These two groupings work for the West Midland Combined Authority and form the Metro Midland Alliance.

This Alliance was set up in 2016 to contribute to the economic and social regeneration of the West Midlands, in central England. The project aims to extend the tram network by 32 km by 2026.

Construction work started in June 2017 with the extension of the tramway in the Birmingham Westside centre, which is due for completion by the end of 2019.
Future extensions include extending the tramway to the Wolverhampton city centre in 2020 and extensions at Edgbaston at the end of 2021. The Wednesbury Brierley Hill line will follow in 2023. Then, depending on financing, the network will be extended, on the one hand, to the east of Birmingham, to link the future high-speed line, High Speed 2 (HS2) and, on the other, towards the airport with the East Birmingham -Solihull branch.

In the United Kingdom, the Alliance works in cooperation with growth areas, local businesses, chambers of commerce and local universities to maximise the social and economic opportunities of this large-scale project for the inhabitants of the region.

Key figures:

  • A large-scale project spanning ten years
  • A transport network used by over 8 million people.

Midland Metro Alliance

En détails

Lieu

West Midlands

Client

West Midlands combined authority

Colas Rail est l’entreprise principale du groupement constructeur dans lequel figurent Colas Ltd, Bouygues UK, Barhale et Auctus Management Group. Le groupement études d’ingénierie est quant à lui composé de Pell Frischmann, Egis Rail et Tony Gee.
Ces deux groupements travaillent pour la West Midland Combined Authority et constituent la Metro Midland Alliance.

Cette alliance a été créée en 2016 pour accompagner les mutations économiques et sociales de la région des West Midlands, située au centre de l’Angleterre. Le projet prévoit d’étendre le réseau de tramway de 32 km d’ici 2026.

Les travaux de construction ont démarré en juin 2017 avec l’extension du tramway dans le centre de Birmingham Westside qui devrait être achevée d’ici fin 2019.
D’autres extensions vont voir le jour avec notamment le prolongement du tramway vers le centre-ville de Wolverhampton en 2020 et les extensions de Edgbaston fin 2021. Viendra ensuite la ligne Wednesbury Brierley Hill en 2023. Ultérieurement en fonction des financements, le réseau sera prolongé d’une part vers l’est de Birmingham pour relier la future ligne de grande vitesse (HS2, ainsi que vers l’aéroport d’autre part avec la branche East Birmingham- Solihull.

Au Royaume-Uni, l’Alliance travaille en collaboration avec les pôles de croissance, des entreprises locales, les chambres de commerce et des universités locales afin d’exploiter au maximum ce projet d’envergure, socialement et économiquement, pour les habitants de cette région.

Chiffres clés :

  • Un projet d’envergure sur 10 ans
  • Un réseau de transport emprunté par plus de 8 millions de personnes